NYC Bucket List Part II

As our big move looms closer each day, there’s a growing sense of panic about all of the experiences I’ll be missing out on here in NYC. After five years in this city, it’s incredible to think of all of the things I never made the time to do.

With that in mind, Joe and I spent our weekend pretending to be tourists, checking more things off our NYC bucket list. It was cold and windy, the lines were long and the screaming children were obnoxious, but all in all, it was an amazing day.

Image

View from the Ellis Island Ferry. 

Image

The Registry Room on Ellis Island- unfortunately, most of the building is still closed due to reconstruction after Sandy.

Image

Downtown view.

Image

 Deserted on a cold day.

Image

The site of our first date- we bought sandwiches and brought them to Battery Park because we were poor college students. 

Image

I could not be more furious with myself for never making the time to go to Shake Shack before this weekend. I never had the patience to wait in line for that long, although I now realize how worthwhile it would have been. Luckily, In-and-Out is in our near future…

Image

Just looking at this picture makes me drool all over again. 

Image

World Trade Center Memorial. I always knew it would emotional, but I didn’t anticipate the chills that crept up the back of my neck upon entering the site. Not only is the memorial itself incredible (photos don’t do it justice), but observing the raw emotions of others at the site is a really powerful experience. 

Image

Looking up at the new WTC. 

Image

View from the Empire State Building- a site I pass nearly every day on my way to and from work. It was ironic to finally engage with the rabid ticket salesman on the street, rather than my usual eye roll that says “Do I look like a tourist?! Stop bothering me.” 

Image

 “Look that’s my building! That’s where I work!”

Image

I asked him to remove the dorky audio tour equipment from around his neck, but he refused.  

Image

 See you soon, West Coast! 

Image

So windy!

Image

View from the Marriott Marquis in Times Square. For those of you who may not know, The View bar rotates to give you 360 degree views of the city. By a pure stroke of luck, we sat down just in time to catch a gorgeous sunset. 

Image

Perfect ending to the day. 

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “NYC Bucket List Part II

Leave a Reply

